Tie breaking?

This forum contains member questions concerning PKC rules and policies. The PKC staff will post official clarifications here.

Moderators: R D Carnegie, Eddie Simmons, Jerry Moll, Tony Secoy

Barry McKewen
Starting Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 1:37 pm
PKC Name: Barry Mckewen
City, State: De Witt, AR
PKC Member Since: 05 Sep 1988
Annual Membership Expires: 19 May 2019
Lifetime Handler Earnings: $645
Cell #: 8709466045
Contact:

Tie breaking?

Postby Barry McKewen » Sun Aug 05, 2018 2:25 pm

I was on a cast last nite that when the hunt time was up 2 of the dogs were holding 1st and 2nd strike , this was a 3 dog cast, the 3rd dog had never been struck in all nite , he had never made a sound. So at the end of the cast all dogs were tied with 0, we went into sudden death tie breaker , the 6 min. rule on strike caught both the dogs that were struck in so they got minus , it was then that the dog that hadn’t been called at anytime during the hunt was determined the cast winner with 0, was this the correct call to make?

Jerry Moll
Director - Field Operations
Posts: 4505
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:11 pm
PKC Name: Jerry Moll
City, State: Batesville, IN
PKC Member Since: 02 Feb 1989
Lifetime Handler Earnings: $29,791
Cell #: 812-212-1619
Contact:

Re: Tie breaking?

Postby Jerry Moll » Sun Aug 05, 2018 4:20 pm

Yes, since it was the only dog with no minus, assuming that no circle or plus points were scored on the cast.
Please prepare yourself and your hound. Hunt the dog, read the Blue Book, and your Good Book!
[email protected] @ 812.212.1619

Barry McKewen
Starting Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 1:37 pm
PKC Name: Barry Mckewen
City, State: De Witt, AR
PKC Member Since: 05 Sep 1988
Annual Membership Expires: 19 May 2019
Lifetime Handler Earnings: $645
Cell #: 8709466045
Contact:

Re: Tie breaking?

Postby Barry McKewen » Sun Aug 05, 2018 6:26 pm

No, no circle or plus points at all on the cast. Thanks for the info .


Return to “PKC Rule/Policy Discussions and Clarifications”