Scoring question

This forum contains member questions concerning PKC rules and policies. The PKC staff will post official clarifications here.

Moderators: R D Carnegie, Eddie Simmons, Jerry Moll, Tony Secoy

Jeff Pedrow
Junior Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 11:36 am
PKC Name: Jeff Ronald Pedrow
City, State: Richmond, KS
PKC Member Since: 13 Aug 1985
Annual Membership Expires: 26 Jan 2019
Lifetime Handler Earnings: $13,010
Location: Scipio, KS
Contact:

Scoring question

Postby Jeff Pedrow » Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:37 am

It has been my impression that you can not score a dogs tree unless the said dog is handled at that tree therefore a dog cannot be scored from the opposite side of a wide deep river correct. Looking for some input on this matter

Jerry Moll
Director - Field Operations
Posts: 4505
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:11 pm
PKC Name: Jerry Moll
City, State: Batesville, IN
PKC Member Since: 02 Feb 1989
Lifetime Handler Earnings: $29,791
Cell #: 812-212-1619
Contact:

Re: Scoring question

Postby Jerry Moll » Fri Feb 09, 2018 9:12 am

You are correct, dog must be handled first. If all cast members are in agreement, dog maybe called across to handler, then tree scored from your side.

13.F. Dangerous Obstacle/Deep Water - When dog(s) are treed across deep water or any other dangerous obstacle, after all efforts to reach dog(s) have been exhausted and the cast cannot reach dog(s), all points should be deleted and the time-out rule applied. Under no circumstances should any cast member attempt to cross water deep enough to require swimming.
Please prepare yourself and your hound. Hunt the dog, read the Blue Book, and your Good Book!
[email protected] @ 812.212.1619


Return to “PKC Rule/Policy Discussions and Clarifications”